Brows are EVERYTHING!

Image

I’m not sure where my obsession with Eyebrows came from, but I can assure you I didn’t always love mine. In Grade 8 I remember taking a razor to the middles of them and I thought I looked aweeesommeeee! Fast forward 12 years and I cringe at old pics of my half eyebrowed, acne prone, brace-face!. Being “blessed” with dark hair genes has its advantages and many disadvantages. Sure I have thick, arched eyebrows, but I have to wax the dam things almost weekly, so as to avoid the dreaded “uni brow” or “Bert & Ernie” affect. *shudders*

Working as anย aesthetician, My favourite thing to do is eyebrow waxing and tinting. I feel it makes a major difference in a persons appearance.They are also one of the most ignored things when it comes to a beauty regime. If you’re going to put on a full face of make-up, why aren’t you putting in the time to tweeze and fill in your brows? Or why are you coloring your hair at a salon and not tinting your brows to compliment the look?

Eyebrows are huge, figuratively and literally in the fashion and beauty world right now. There are ย “brow gurus” who are making a living on simply doing eyebrows (My dream!… If only Cape Breton had the market for that ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) ….Guess I’ll just have to settle for giving out some tips on getting ideal arches for now.

– Your Brows are sisters…not twins. No one will have exactly the same brows on both sides as no ones face is perfectly symmetrical. Do not go “tweezer happy” trying to achieve perfection.

– If your hair on your head is dark, your brows should be 1-2 shades lighter and if your hair is lighter, your brows should be 1-2 shades darker. Bleached out brows are huge right now in high fashion and runways and I feel that’s exactly where they should stay. Not easy to pull of on a day to day basis.

-Everyone can benefit from tinting. Especially redheads and blondes. I even tint my brows and they are already dark brownย . It just picks up on all the little hairs and makes brows appear to be fuller.

-If you want to fix a brow mishap or grow your brows back out, Step 1: hide or throw out your tweezers! (Extreme I know, but trust me here) Also, step away from the 1000000x magnifying lamps too. They are bad news for eyebrows and anyone who likes to pick an occasional pimple.

-Step 2- book an appointment and get your brows done professionally and frequently. This may take a few trips to fix the problem. I have clients come every 2 weeks til we achieve our goal and then go every 4-6 weeks to maintain….

-Be patient and also understand different factors come into play if your brows will come back to the way you want them i.e. original natural shape, age, how badly tweezed or waxed the brows are, etc.

-Trimming is your friend, in moderation. Only trim long hairs that fall outside the shape of the brow. Don’t go overboard though or your brows will be left with gaps.

-Invest in a good eyebrow pencil, eyebrow shadow, or eyebrow gel.. Some great brands are Anastasia Beverly Hills(My personal fave) Benefit , Aveda, MAC, Maybelline and Revlon.

-Creep Youtube. There are lots of great tutorials on how to fill in your brows whether you want them natural or dramatic. However, there are many bad tutorials out there also.DO NOT make them look like a black sharpie attacked your face!!! This is not a good look….

And there you have it. Just a few tips from me to you. Hope this was helpful ๐Ÿ™‚

Nicoleย 

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

