Younique 3D Mascara: Worth the Hype?

        In the past few months I have seen and heard about this “Miracle” mascara that everyone and their mother’s raved about. Younique 3D Fiber mascara.
    

     “It replaces false lashes!” they say…”Its the best thing ever!” “Life changer!!” blah…blah…blah.

     Sooooo me being curious and all, I decided to shell out the *cringe* $35 bones for a mascara. You see, I may buy lots of things but I am very, very cheap. (Why buy one thing that’s expensive when I can have five instead!?) I love drugstore mascaras and have never used anything but, so as you can imagine, I had a very hard time doing this and as I hovered over the “send money” button, I thought to myself “This #%*@ better be worth it!”

    So fast forward a week or so later, My girlfriend delivered a black eyeglass case looking thing to my work ( thanks Chantal! 🙂 )

     First impression, the packaging is smart. It keeps the two tubes it comes with in place. This will save me time and grief in the morning so I don’t lose any of these essential things.

     I have previously watched videos and tutorials on how to apply the products and also had clients bring it in to use on themselves during prom or wedding makeup applications, but I must say I appreciate having actual written instructions in front of me. So having these included in the packaging is great…especially if you are clueless when it comes to makeup.

    Now, here is the tricky part. I found in order for this mascara to look nice and not super spidery, you have to take your time applying it.

    The instructions recommend that you apply another type of regular mascara to give it a base first. Then apply the Gel Mascara, then the fibers, then another coat of gel and so on. Doing one eye at a time. Also, it works best if you use a lash comb or clean mascara wand to brush through your lashes, so they don’t end up looking clumpy.

     Less is more with this stuff. Build it up slowly, not all at once. On days I have more time, I put quite a few coats on. But be careful, those little fiber buggers are messy. If you aren’t careful, you will have them fall all over your cheeks or worse….in your EYE!! ( it hurts, trust me. I spent my first day wearing this feeling like my eyeballs were on fire!!!)

    Overall, minus the inflamed eyeballs(my mistake) I must say, I am a very satisfied customer with this purchase. I love the way it looks. I do have long, dark eyelashes anyway, but I feel it makes a huge difference compared to my regular mascaras. So I figure if someone else out there has little, thin lashes, they might love this product even more!

On a side note….I will still wear temporary false lashes when going out (which is never anymore, but whatever, I can pretend). I would probably use them in addition to this mascara! The more drama the better right?!

Here is my before and after of the first day using it!

10464320_10152581200214993_4506927706548992991_n

 – Nicole xo 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Younique 3D Mascara: Worth the Hype?

  1. Pingback: Summer Fave, Raves and Flops | beautyjunkiesanonymous

Leave a Reply

