How to Stop Biting your Nails!

First off, sorry for super slacking the last little while. I realized it has been a month since my last post :/

I thought I would discuss something near and dear to my heart tonight. Nail Biting.

I bit my nails since I had my first set of teeth… luckily I skipped over the nose picking stage. ( the combo of the two habits could of potentially scarred me for life. Glad I avoided that one :/ )

I bit my nails till there was nothing left. Till they bled even. It was a bad habit that really affected me.

I was always afraid of meeting new people and having to shake their hands. Even something as little as picking up money off a floor could potentially turn into an embarrassing ordeal. 

I remember playing basketball and being scolded after games by my parents for just sitting on the bench and gnawing on my hands.

You see, my bad habit was definitely related to two things….the first and most influential cause was stress and bad nerves. The second was boredom.

I tried everything over the years to stop.

-Band-Aids on every finger…not a cute look and very obvious.

-That gross “No-Bite” nail polish stuff…but if you’re a die hard nail biter/picker like I was, this just gave you more of challenge when biting your nails. Gave me more stuff to pick at when I had my munch sessions.

– Sitting on my hands never helped either, Ma….

-Acrylic Nails….These covered the problem, but when it came time to remove them, I would pick them off. I remember once sitting in the bathroom and using scissors, nail clippers and  everything else to get them off. Needless to say, my nails were in bad shape afterwards and were even more tempting to pick at ( fyi this is before I knew anything about removing false nails, don’t judge this aesthetician!!!)

-Stick on nails from Wal-Mart….These were the best solution I had for a while. They stayed on fairly well and didn’t mess up my nails as bad as the acrylics. I just carried my little thing of nail glue around with me everywhere I went,so no nails would go missing! I was able to keep these on till I started Aesthetics school.

For School and our exams, you had to have clean, short, well manicured hands. Something I did not have. I couldn’t have press on nails on because they could potentially harbour bacteria or not to mention scratch someone’s eye out during a facial.

As the course progressed, No one wanted to be my partner for French Manicure Day 😦 hahahaha I had the shortest nails , both my ring finger nails were basically non existent. I don’t blame the girls for being frustrated when trying to polish my nubby little fingers.

I was told something in school that really stuck in my head. As an aesthetician, people are going to look at you and judge you by your appearance no matter what. If you have crazy messed up makeup, chances are people won’t want you to do theirs and same goes for messed up fingernails. If you can’t make your nails pretty, how can you be trusted to make other’s look pretty. I whole heartedly agree with this. I wear makeup almost every day and try to make myself look presentable. The last step was to fix my nails.

It is an extremely hard habit to break. Most Habits take 30 days to truly break the cycle. I had stopped a couple times in my life before and it lasted less then a month before I was back to mutilating my hands.

When I started my job out of school, I finally put the “nail” in the coffin (get it?!) haha and got my *#@% together and stopped. I believe anyone can stop biting their nails if they truly want to. I wanted to and this is what I did.

1) Try to relax. Anxiety is a big cause to biting your nails. I have definitely mellowed out a bit as I got older and learned to let things go a little easier.

2) Try and keep busy. Boredom was bad news for my nails. Do something while you’re watching tv. Don’t just keep your hands idle.  Knit, read, whatever!! Also, chew gum or mints! That way it’s harder to bite your nails with a wad of Hubba Bubba in your mouth!

3) Get regular manicures. Pamper your poor hands. This will also help with the relaxing part. Your nails need extra work and love. Come hang out with me and get it done. I know people are embarrassed of their nails and hands, but trust me….I’m willing to bet mine were some of the worst bitten nails out there. Wish I had pictures. I really won’t judge and totally “get” the whole issue.

4) Learn how to maintain your nails in between manis. I carried around a nail file, soft buffer and even cuticle nippers for a good while. This way if I got a hang nail, I could nip that sucker off before I would end up biting and bleeding half to death. Dramatic, but hand wounds bleed forever!!!!

5) Invest in some good cuticle oil and hand lotion. Carry that around with you too. Massage oil in every night and use hand cream whenever possible. One of the main reasons you can get hang nails is dry cuticles!!!

6) Wear rings, bracelets, watches, etc. Keep attention on your hands with these things so you are forced to make your nails look a little better.

7) Shellac. Now, being an aesthetician has it perks. One being I can buy and do my own shellac or gel polish manicures. It lasts longer then regular polish ( up to 2 weeks). It’s shiny and pretty. The only way to get it off is to soak it off with acetone polish remover. If you start having this done and you are a nail biter,I have some warnings for you. DO NOT PICK SHELLAC OFF!!! It can take layers off your own nails and do some damage. I love shellac and recommend it to people who are in the process of quitting nail biting, after they have a few regular manicures and get some length to their nails.

8) Know that biting your nails for a long period of time can seriously damage the integrity of your nail, your teeth and gums. A senseless habit is not worth the dental bills.

Now all this being said, some things may not work for you. I have been Nail Biting Free for over two years now and I could never imagine letting myself go back to the way my hands looked. Its a sucky, dirty habit. Go look up some articles on what can be found under your nails on any daily basis..Try and gross yourself out if nothing else works. So much bacteria is living under you nails and you are sticking them right in your mouth when biting them. Yuck!

And there you have it! A few tips that helped me and hopefully will help anyone out there, snacking on their hands as they read this post. 

-Nicole xo 🙂

nail biting

nails

Leave a Reply

