Garnier Color Styler: First Impressions

Being the sucker consumer that I am, anything shiny and new will catch my attention.

You see, I have a condition they call “FOMO”…..which is short for Fear of Missing Out. Its a horrible condition, really. It makes you buy things and do things you may not necessarily do because you don’t want to miss out on anything that could potentially be AWESOME!!! Don’t judge. I’m working on this issue…I have to, for my wallet’s sake. :/

Anywho, I saw the Garnier Color Styler in a few YouTube videos and NEEDED to have it…like ASAP! So after watching the videos at 7 in the morning… I ran out and bought it at my local Shoppers before work one day.

The product is advertised as a fun temporary color that lasts 2-3 washes (and since I hardly ever wash my hair….IT WILL LAST FOREVER!!!! Mwahahahaha) .ย I believe it comes in five different, vibrant shades ( Blue, pink, purple, red and gold?) …..I was most intrigued by the Blue and purple colors.

In the videos, I couldn’t get over the fact at how dark the girl’s hair was and how bright the actual Color Styler came out! Me, being a super chicken shit with doing anything drastic to my hair anymore ( having a short bob for years, shaving half my head and losing hair from trying to lighten pieces too fast was far too traumatic) and I’m finally somewhat happy with my hair, but every once in a while I get the urge to color it fire engine red or chop it off! ย So this I thought would be a nice alternative to having a meltdown if I had any more hair disasters.

Procedure :

So right off the bat, the process of applying this seemed almost too easy….I was kind of wrong.

When they say cover your shoulders with a towel….cover your whole entire bathroom and body with anything you don’t want stained because as soon as this stuff touches something, it will be a nightmare to get out.

So after covering everything, make sure your hair is dry and knot free( HA! and if your hair is anything like mine, you could only look at it the wrong way and it’ll tangle) #thickhairprobs

Put your gloves on and just start grabbing random pieces and apply the product. There is no mixing and no brush. Just apply with your hands. As much or as little as you want. I started off with two small peek-a-boo pieces behind my ears and that slowly turned into all my hair from my ears down. Oops.

You then sit and let it all dry or if you are as impatient as I am, use a hairdryer!! (Much better!) After it is completely dry, brush it out. This is also very messy. It almost became chalk like and powdery.

First impression:

Not bad…really dry though and the color wasn’t as vibrant as I’d hoped. ย I braided my hair (with much struggle) and went to bed.

Next day, hair was a little softer and brighter. People definitely noticed and I was surprised at how many actually liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚

The third day was the best! The gross dry/chalk feeling left and the color was at it’s brightest. Yey!

bluehair

 

Conclusion : I have washed my hair twice since I applied this. There is still a hint of purple that I think will come out in the next wash and I can live with it until then.

I did love the way this looked, but not so much on how it made my hair feel. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Maybe it’s just my hair type and how tangled it can get, but this made it way worse while it was in. ย Maybe if your hair was finer and softer, it would work better for you. Maybe even give your hair some texture too. ย P.s. It is only $7 or so, so it is completely affordable and won’t be a huge let down if you don’t like it!

If I had to rate Garnier Color Styler, I would give itย ย 7.5/10.

I still have quite a bit of the products left and will hopefully get around to trying it again sometime soon and in the meantime you can check my face out on the Garnier USA site!! Which I must say is really kind of awesome and flattering! ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.garnierusa.com/funnestgirl

 

Until next time,

-Nicole xo ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

2 thoughts on “Garnier Color Styler: First Impressions

Leave a Reply

